Henderson Electric Light & Planing Mill Company
The Henderson Electric Light & Planing Mill Company appears in the Henderson County records as early as July, 1902. It was indebted to A. Wettermark & Co for $25,000. Situated one-half mile north of the county courthouse, the planing mill was company not only finishing milled lumber but also supplying electricity to private consumers. Wettermark & Co may have been a parent company of the electric light and planing mill company. Among the those signing as grantees on filing recorded October 3, 1902, was C. A. Still, a member of the county's sawmilling community.
This unique company was listed in the Reference Book of the Lumbermen's Credit Association, January 1907. How long the company existed or supplied electricity to the community is uncertain. In 1906, the Henderson Electric Light Company and Planing Mill was located east of Webster Walk, northeast of Depot Street, across the tracks of the International & Great Northern. Equipment included a 40-horsepower dynamo, a machine shop, a 40-horsepower steam engine, a planing mill, a dry kiln, and lumber sheds.
Mill Details
Alpha Numeric Key:
RU
Owner Name
Henderson Electric Light & Planing Mill
Location
One-half mile north of the Henderson County courthouse in Henderson
County
Rusk
Years in Operation:
6
Start Year:
1902
End Year:
1907
Decades:
1900-1909
Period of Operation:
1902 to at least 1907
Town:
Henderson
Company Town:
2
Peak Town Size:
1,653 in 1907
Mill Pond:
2
